Impressive trio for WRT in the #41 Oreca 07

3 Feb. 2023 • 10:00
With a trio who know the WRT team well, the Belgian team is sure to do well in its #41 Oreca 07.
Photo : MPS Agency

While WRT is on track at Bathurst on the GT programme, the LMP2 team is testing in Portimao to prepare for the WEC season, which will once again involve the entry of two Oreca 07s in LMP2. To date, only Rui Andrade and Sean Gelael have been confirmed for Vincent Vosse's Belgian team, which has a revenge to take this season.


The first of the two crews is now fully booked. The #41 will be contested by Rui Andrade, Robert Kubica and Louis Delétraz. All three drivers have already driven for WRT in LMP2.


Rui Andrade, 23, hails from Luanda in Angola, a port city on the west coast of southern Africa. Andrade drove for WRT last year in the #41 Realteam by WRT car and finished fourth in the championship. His IMSA season ended with a runner-up finish in the Michelin Endurance Cup alongside Louis Delétraz at Tower Motorsport. Rui Andrade will be joining the Swiss driver in the bucket, this time at WRT. The Swiss driver also has a past with the Belgians, but in the European Le Mans Series where he won the 2021 crown with Robert Kubica and Yifei Ye. The Polish driver will be the third Oreca 07 driver in the WEC this season after spending a season with Prema.


On paper, the trio of Rui Andrade (Silver), Luis Delétraz (Gold) and Robert Kubica (Platinum) have a good chance of getting ahead. In the second Oreca 07, only Sean Gelael remains confirmed for the moment. It would not be surprising to see Robin Frijns again, still recovering from a hand operation. The third man could be Ferdinand Habsburg.



Log in to comment the article