A thrilling weekend as the 80th Members’ Meeting kickstarts a special year for motorsport at Goodwood

17 Apr. 2023 • 16:27
Photo : Nigel Harniman

The sun broke through at the 80th Members’ Meeting for a glorious weekend of racing action at the historic Goodwood Motor Circuit which celebrates its 75th anniversary in 2023.


Dramatic Demonstrations 

The 80th Members’ Meeting celebrated 60 years of the most famous sports car in the world with a spectacular on-track moment showcasing the very best racing Porsche 911s. The demonstration included the 1973 Targa Florio-winning Carrera RSR, driven by 24 Hours of Le Mans record-holder Tom Kristensen, and the astounding 1998 Le Mans-winning GT1-98.


Famously known for being the first turbocharged F1 car to win the drivers’ World Championship, not one but two Brabham BT52s returned to the Goodwood Motor Circuit. The cars were reunited with their designer Professor Gordon Murray and team manager Herbie Blash ahead of the special demonstration.


Bentley brought the limited edition Le Mans Collection Continental GT and Goodwood fan-favourite, the Bentley Speed 8, to celebrate 20 years since the marque’s sixth victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.


The 80th Members’ Meeting also welcomed a stunning collection of iconic early 21st Century GT1 cars which set off into the scintillating sunset on Saturday evening. Le Mans class and GT1 race winners, including the likes of the Aston Martin DBR9, Ferrari 550 GTS, Maserati MC12, Chrysler Viper GTS-R and Lister Storm all looked stunning as the sun set.


Timeless racing

Making a much-welcome return to the Members’ Meeting, the S.F. Edge Trophy, provided an incredible head-to-head battle for pre-war Edwardian beasts. With an almighty roar, the S.F. Edge Trophy took the Circuit by storm throughout the weekend with Mark Walker finally taking home the win in the 1905 Darracq 200hp.

The one and only motorbike race to bless the track at Members’ Meeting, the Hailwood Trophy, hosted an incredible collection of 250cc and 350cc Grand Prix Motorcycles. Shaun Carson collected the win on the Yamaha TZ350G - 1981 as he took on the bends on two-wheels. Probably the most nail biting of all, the heroic riders of the Hailwood add yet another layer of excitement to the event.


With a fresh name for the 80th Members’ Meeting, the Gordon Spice Trophy honours British racing driver Gordon Spice. We couldn’t think of anyone more suited to take on the mantle as the saloon-car race enters a new era, and the race was a fitting tribute to one of motor racing’s most colourful characters.The renamed race for Group 1 saloon cars saw a 60-car grid with two heats won by World Touring Car Champion Rob Huff.


The Gurney Cup welcomed a fleet of Ford GT40s and fellow sports cars for our longer two-driver race on Sunday. Taking pole position and turning this into a win was IndyCar legend Dario Franchitti and Shaun Lynn.


Gordon Murray Automotive’s T.33 Spider unveiled

Taking centre stage on the Brooklands Lawn was Gordon Murray Automotive which unveiled its new supercar the T.33 Spider on Saturday morning. Limited to just 100 examples, the car was revealed by Professor Gordon Murray, The Duke of Richmond and Dario Franchitti. Following the launch moment, two of Gordon Murray’s T.50 took to the track with the sound of their peerless V12 engines ringing out over the Motor Circuit.


Hammer time at Bonhams  

One-of-a-kind cars went under the hammer at the Bonhams auction on Sunday. Two of the most famous works rally cars to tackle the Monte Carlo Rally took centre stage at the auction. Also amongst the catalogue of impressive and unique vehicles on offer were the Queen Elizabeth II Ceremonial Land Rover and Pat Moss’ Austin Healey. The 1999 Subaru Impreza WRC99, campaigned by World Rally Champion the late Richard Burns, sold for an impressive £448,500, whilst the 1963 Austin/Morris Mini Cooper ‘S’ driven by Flying Finn Rauno Aaltonen sold for £143,750.


Around the event 

From sheep herding to off-roading in classic Land Rovers there was something for everyone at the Members’ Meeting as guests competed to earn points for their respective ‘Houses’.


A firm favourite amongst our Members, Fellows and drivers, the House Games saw Darnley take home the trophy with 21,268 winning points. House Captains Nicolas Minassian (Aubigny), Anthony Reid (Methuen), Jochen Mass (Darnley) and Emanuele Pirro (Torbolton), who’s sterling work has seen them champion their teams for an incredible 10 years, handed over the baton ahead of the 81st Members’ Meeting next year. The 2024 event will be joined by our new House Captains Dario Franchitti, Gordon Shedden, Andy Priaulx, and Tom Kristensen.



As always, the party got going in true Goodwood style on Saturday evening as the GT1 demonstration closed the event with a sunset extravaganza, signalling the start of the much-loved Members’ Meeting party. With a spectacular firework display, live music and fabulous food and drink, the party was a real celebration for our Goodwood Road Racing Members and Fellows.


For now, the engines have been silenced and the House Games packed away  - until next year, when the 81st Members’ Meeting will mark 10 years since the event first made a return to the Motor Circuit in 2014.


Log in to comment the article